• International
  • Lead News

Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for the third consecutive term in the evening

  • International
  • Lead News
  • 09 June, 2024 10:42:10

Photo: Collected

International Desk: Narendra Modi is going to take oath as the Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term. He will take oath at a function organized at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday (June 9) evening. 

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and several foreign heads of government have already reached Delhi to attend the event. Meanwhile, a high alert has been issued in the country's capital Delhi to ensure maximum security for the swearing-in ceremony. 30 ministers will also take oath with Modi on this day. 

Indian media NDTV reported this information in a report on Sunday. The BJP-led NDA coalition won the Lok Sabha elections again after seven phases of polling that lasted more than a month and a half. So they are building the government again. Along with Modi's swearing in as Prime Minister on Sunday, at least 30 elected parliamentarians may also take oath as ministers. 

Indian media reports that although Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister on Sunday, the full cabinet will be sworn in a few days later. However, some important ministerial positions will be sworn in today.

Besides the Prime Minister, 30 ministers can take oath today. Among them, the number of BJP ministers will be more. A few MPs from other coalition parties may also take the oath. The oath-taking ceremony will be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Sunday from 7:15 pm to 8:00 pm local time. The media say that the ministers who will be sworn in today will be informed by phone this morning.

Citing several sources, it is said that the number of members of the full cabinet of India this time may be between 78 and 81 people. Besides, very few ministers will be given the responsibility of multiple ministries in this cabinet. While the partner parties have demanded various ministries, the BJP is keeping four important ministries - Home, Defence, Finance and External Affairs - in its own hands.

Ministers of this post can take oath today.  Apart from this, the BJP will also hold the portfolios of Railways, Education, Roads and Transport, Law, Information Technology, Steel, Coal and Civil Aviation. These ministers can also take oath today. Meanwhile, the Indian media say that the highest security has already been issued in Delhi to ensure the security of the swearing-in ceremony.

A multi-level security system has been deployed at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the venue for the swearing-in ceremony, with five companies of paramilitary personnel besides NSG commandos, drones and snipers. A no-fly zone has been declared in Delhi to prevent any criminal or terrorist threats during the swearing-in ceremony. The restrictions will remain in effect until Monday.

Comment ( 0)

  • company_logo