• Sports

Bangladesh announced World Cup team without Mahmudullah

  • Sports
  • 14 September, 2022 15:56:05

Photo: Collected

Sports Desk: After many speculations, the Bangladesh team finally announced the squad for the T20 World Cup. The team for the upcoming World Cup has been announced through an official press conference at Mirpur Sher Bangla National Stadium press conference on Wednesday afternoon.

Former captain Mahmudullah Riyad was a hot topic in the discussion of the World Cup team for the past few days. Finally, the World Cup team was announced without him. Nurul Hasan Sohan has been chosen as captain Shakib Al Hasan's deputy.

Mahmudullah Riyad, Enamul Haque Vijay, Naeem Sheikh, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan and Parvez Hossain Imon have been dropped from the Asia Cup squad. Mushfiqur Rahim is not in the team due to retirement. They have been replaced by Liton Das, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Hasan Mahmud.

Sheikh Mehdi Hasan will remain with the team as a reserve in the World Cup despite being left out of the main team. Apart from him, legspinner Rishad Hossain, left-handed pacer Shariful Islam and left-handed dashing opener Soumya Sarkar have been taken as reserves. A replacement player can be taken from among these four in the event of anyone's injury in the World Cup.

Bangladesh will start the World Cup mission against the team that has passed the qualifying round on October 24. Apart from that, the other four opponents of Bangladesh in the Super Twelve are South Africa, India, Pakistan and the teams that have passed the qualifiers.

Before the World Cup, the Tigers will play a tri-series against Pakistan in New Zealand. Which will start on October 7. Bangladesh will go with the announced team for the World Cup in that tri-nation series as well.

Bangladesh squad in T20 World Cup
Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain Dhrub, Sabbir Rahman, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nurul Hasan Sohan (Vice-Captain), Nasum Ahmed, Mostafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mohammad Saifuddin , Ebadat Hossain Chowdhury, Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Hasan Mahmud.

Reserves: Shariful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Sheikh Mehdi Hasan and Soumya Sarkar.

Comments (0)

Comment ( 0)

  • company_logo