• Sports

Asia Cup Champion Sri Lanka

  • Sports
  • 12 September, 2022 01:24:45

Photo: Collected

Sports Desk: There was a lot of discussion about the toss before the final. History said, winning the toss is a lot of winning the match on the ground of the United Arab Emirates! Pakistan won the toss today, decided to field. In the tournament, winning the toss and taking the field, then chasing runs to win the match, Pakistan's victory seemed like a possible destiny. Especially after the first 10 overs of the match! However, Sri Lanka finally won today by turning all the dice, breaking Pakistan's dream and lifting the Asia Cup for the sixth time in the Lankans' trophy case. As the saying goes, Uanti Mulo is known only in Patna. But in today's match it was not recognized at all. Who would have thought that Sri Lanka would have the last laugh after seeing Naseem Shah's stumping by Kushal Mendis in the opening over, followed by Haris Rauf's pace in the powerplay? One thought at least; Not only did he think, but also stood with his chest against the current. However, after a powerplay, Sri Lanka lost 5 wickets before 10 overs and Bhanuka Rajapaksa returned to the orbit with a great counter attack strategy. Initially accompanied by Wanindu Hasranga, his innings of 35 runs from 21 balls is telling, his role in the initiation of every attack is no less. But when he returned with the team's 116 runs, then Bhanuka almost single-handedly pulled the innings of the Lankans. Thanks to Shadab Khan, he got 'life' twice, but then he showed how to use the life he got back. He scored 71 runs in 45 balls, that's why the Lankans threw a challenge of 170 runs in front of Pakistan. The Srilankans' victory was not recognized even at the beginning of the innings. Dilshan Madushankar scored 9 runs on the scoreboard before any valid ball was fielded in the first over! A start like that on a stage like the final is enough to make any team cringe. But the Lankans could not. One of them was Pramod Madushan! Thanks to him, Sri Lanka picked up Babar Azam in the fifth over, followed by Fakhar Zaman one ball later.

Comment ( 0)

  • company_logo